MARRIAGE : THE FIRST YEAR

MARRIAGE : THE FIRST YEAR

OUR FIRST YEAR OF MARRIAGE HAS BEEN HARD ON BOTH MY HUSBAND AND I. I QUESTION MYSELF A LOT ABOUT HIS OPINIONS OF ME AND I AM ALWAYS QUESTIONING MYSELF WITH THAT : AM I A GOOD ENOUGH WIFE TO HIM ? WE HAVE MANAGE TO SURVIVE ON A VERY SLIM INCOME , WE ARE LEARNING AS WE GO. I BELIEVE THAT BECOMES  A PART OF YOUR MARRIAGE WHEN YOU AGREE TO SAY ” I DO “. 

MY HUSBAND IS THE PRIMARY INCOME IN OUR MARRIAGE AND HAS BEEN SINCE WE MARRIED ON OCTOBER 31, 2012. IN THE AREA WE LIVE IN THE BOTTOM OF KENTUCKY THERE IS HARDLY ANY EMPLOYMENT SO IF YOU FIND A JOB HERE YOU BEST KEEP IT. THAT’S THE ATTITUDE THE POPULATION AROUND HERE HAS TO HAVE.

I AM A STAY AT HOME WIFE, I ENJOY BEING A STAY AT HOME WIFE EVEN THOUGH I KNOW IT MAKES IT HARDER ON MY HUSBAND, HE SEEMS TO BE CONTENT WITH IT. IT’S KIND OF HARD TO LIVE ON A BUDGET WHEN THERE’S HARDLY MUCH OF A BUDGET TO LIVE ON IN THE FIRST PLACE,  AND NO I AM NOT COMPLAINING I LOVE THE LIFE I  LIVE WITH MY HUSBAND. SO THANKS TO A POST I READ IN ( TRUE STORIES OF A MIDWEST YANKEE blog I WOULD NOT BE BLOGGING THIS SINCE MY HUSBAND AND I HAVE BEEN MARRIED OUR GROCERIES HAVE BEEN BOUGHT WITH SNAP BENEFITS OR WE WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO AFFORD GROCERIES.  MY HUSBAND AND I BOTH GREW UP LESS FORTUNATE OR AS WE LIKE TO SAY JUST PLAIN POOR SO WE HAD LEARNED TO ADJUST TO A LOT LONG BEFORE WE WERE EVER MARRIED.

I COME FROM A DIVORCED FAMILY, MY HUSBAND DOES NOT. THAT MAY BE THE REASON I DIDN’T MARRY UNTIL I WAS 48 YEARS OLD BECAUSE I KNEW AND ALWAYS TOLD MYSELF THAT WHEN I DID IT WOULD BE FOREVER. ALL THAT MATTERED TO ME WAS THAT I FOUND THE MAN OF MY DREAMS AND WAS TRULY IN LOVE AND I WANTED TO BE HIS WIFE HE ASK AND I SAID YES, SO WE MARRIED IMMEDIATELY. SO YES YOU CAN SAY WE TOLD OURSELVES WE’LL FIGURE IT OUT AS WE GO.

MY HUSBAND AND I HAVE MADE IT A PRACTICE IN OUR HOME TO ALWAYS TALK ABOUT EVERYTHING OR AGREE TO DISAGREE. EAT DINNER AT THE TABLE AND PRAY, NEVER GO TO BED ANGRY OR UPSET, ETC. OUR WORDS TO LIVE BY !  THE BEHAVIOR  I DIDN’T SEE ENCOURAGED IN THE HOME I GREW UP IN SOME OF MY LIFE. SEE SOME THINGS I AM GOOD AT KNOWING SOME NOT. I TELL HIM “WE DON’T HAVE ARGUMENTS” WE HAVE DISAGREEMENTS.

IT HAS NOT BEEN EASY AND I’M SURE IT WILL NOT CONTINUE TO BE EASY FINANCIALLY , BUT THE ONE THING I DO KNOW IS THAT MY HUSBAND AND I ARE BOUND AND DETERMINED TO MAKE THIS MARRIAGE WORK BECAUSE WE LOVE EACH OTHER AND THAT IS THE DECISION YOU MAKE WHEN YOU DECIDE TO GET MARRIED IS TO BUILD A PARTNERSHIP TOGETHER NO MATTER WHAT THE COST SO YES IT IS A SACRIFICE AT TIMES BUT WELL WORTH IT JUST KNOWING I HAVE SOMEONE IN MY LIFE TO STAND BEHIND ME AND BE HERE FOR ME ALWAYS

SO I MUST SAY THAT MY POINT TO THIS ARTICLE IS THAT NO THE FIRST YEAR OF MARRIAGE IS NOT EASY THAT’S THE SACRIFICE WE MAKE IN THE NAME OF LOVE. THERE REALLY IS A LOT THAT COMES WITH IT, WE SURE DID NOT HAVE IT ALL FIGURED OUT AND WERE LEARNING AS WE GO HAVING A GREAT TIME DOING IT.

LIFE IS A LEARNING EXPERIENCE EVERYDAY EVERYWHERE THAT IS WHY I AM SO GRATEFUL AND THANKFUL THAT IT WAS IN GOD’S PLAN FOR ME TO HAVE A HUSBAND IN MY LIFE THAT LOVES ME UNCONDITIONALLY (and mine really does ) THAT’S PRICE LESS. I KNOW THAT EVERYDAY WHEN I LOOK AT MY HUSBAND AND HE LOOKS AT ME LEARNING AND KNOWING EACH OTHER DAILY AND YES WE ARE MARRIED FOR OUR LIFETIME HERE ON EARTH AND LOOK FORWARD TO MANY MORE YEARS TOGETHER !

WE SURVIVED OUR FIRST YEAR, LOOKING FORWARD TO ANOTHER !

 

Let me know how you feel about what I write !

